Computer Graphics Night 2020 – Award winners

As every year, the Computer Graphics Night was looking for the brightest minds in visual computing - but this year in an unusual form: The event had to take place completely virtually.

© Fraunhofer IGD / meetyoo
The Computer Graphics Night took place completely digital in 2020.

The award ceremony took place nevertheless and the jury, consisting of scientists of the Fraunhofer IGD and chairs associated with the institute, chose this year's winners in the usual way. We congratulate once again and thank the numerous guests, who have given us a wonderful winter evening also in the 22nd edition.

AWARD WINNERS | »Best Thesis«

© Fraunhofer IGD

Steven Lamarr Reynolds

»A Visualization Interface to Improve the Transparency of Collected Personal Data on the Internet«

Supervisors: Prof. Dr. Arjan Kuijper; Marija Schufrin, M.Sc.

© Fraunhofer IGD

Tom Baumgartl

»Storyline Visualization for the Exploration of Disease Spreading«

Supervisors: PD Dr. Tatiana von Landesberger, Marcel Wunderlich

© Fraunhofer IGD

Sofie Hofmann

»Neural Networks for Error Correction in Electromagnetic Tracking«

Supervisors: Dr.-Ing. Georgios Sakas, Dr. Anirban Mukhopadhyay

AWARD WINNERS | »Impact on Business«

© Fraunhofer IGD

Julian von Wilmsdorff (Fraunhofer IGD)

Florian Kirchbuchner (Fraunhofer IGD)

Biying Fu (Fraunhofer IGD)

Andreas Braun (Fraunhofer IGD)

Arjan Kuijper (Fraunhofer IGD / TU Darmstadt MAVC)

»An Experimental Overview on Electric Field Sensing«

Journal of Ambient Intelligence and Humanized Computing

AWARD WINNERS | »Impact on Science«

© Fraunhofer IGD

Philipp Urban (Fraunhofer IGD / Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology )

Tejas Madan Tanksale (Fraunhofer IGD)

Alan Brunton (Fraunhofer IGD)

Bui Minh Vu (Toyohashi Univ. of Technology)

Shigeki Nakauchi (Toyohashi Univ. of Technology)

»Redefining A in RGBA: Towards a Standard for Graphical 3D Printing«

ACM Transactions on Graphics

AWARD WINNERS | »Impact on Society«

© Fraunhofer IGD

Naser Damer (Fraunhofer IGD)

Viola Boller (Fraunhofer IGD)

Yaza Wainakh (Fraunhofer IGD)

Fadi Boutros (Fraunhofer IGD)

Philipp Terhörst (Fraunhofer IGD)

Andreas Braun (Fraunhofer IGD)

Arjan Kuijper (Fraunhofer IGD / TU Darmstadt MAVC)

»Detecting Face Morphing Attacks by Analyzing the Directed Distances of Facial Landmarks Shifts«

Pattern Recognition

AWARD WINNERS | »Best Industrial Project Award«

1st place

"Planning Tools for Fiber Optic Expansion

from the department "Spatial Information Management"


2nd place

"Adaptation of Cuttlefish for mass production of 3D-printed, colored Dungeon-and-Dragon table-top models"

from the department "3D Printing Technology"


3rd place

"AR front car"

from the department "Virtual & Augmented Reality"