• About
  • Our Reception
  • Our Publications
12. - 16.08.2018 (All day)

Fraunhofer IGD invites you to a networking event where guests can discuss these technologies and their applications with our experts. The reception will take place on August 15, 2018 at the Steamwork Restaurant, not far from the Vancouver Exhibition Center. From 7 pm to 11 pm you will have the opportunity to learn about these researchers and their projects firsthand. Additional demos will also be presented on the subject of simulation in connection with 3D printing and the 3D visualization software Instant3Dhub, which displays scalable 3D objects on all end devices, even in augmented reality.

Fraunhofer IGD invites you to a reception for SIGGRAPH 2018. In the rustic atmosphere of a brewery, Max Limper and Philipp Urban will present their papers, which have been acclaimed by ACM SIGGRAPH. Refreshments will be served.

When?

Wednesday, August 15, 2018
7:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Where?

Steamworks Restaurant
375 Water St.
Vancouver, BC
BC V6B 5C6

 

Box Cutter: Atlas Refinement for Efficient Packing via Void Elimination

Paper

Authors

  • Max Limper, Fraunhofer IGD / TU Darmstadt
  • Nicholas Vining, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Alle Sheffer, University of British Columbia, Canada

Abstract

Fresh from his doctorate, this is not Max Limper’s first trip to Canada: In co-operation with the two scientists Nicholas Vining and Alla Sheffer from the University of British Columbia UBC, he presents the paper Box Cutter: Atlas Refinement for Efficient Packing via Void Elimination“. The ‘Box Cutter’ software takes on the textures of 3D objects that are usually stored two-dimensionally on a so-called atlas and subsequently placed on the 3D object during visualization. The algorithm of the software calculates the creation of the texture files more optimally than before, so that empty spots on the atlas are detected and removed. The more efficient use of pixels leads to better quality with the same data volume.

3D Printing Spatially Varying Color and Translucency

Paper

Authors

  • Alan Brunton, Can Ates Arikan, and Tejas Madan Tanksale, Fraunhofer IGD
  • Philipp Urban, Fraunhofer IGD and Norwegian University of Science and Technology NTNU

Abstract

The paper “3D Printing Spatially Varying Color and Translucency,” describes the latest ways to make 3D printing even more realistic. The latest Cuttlefish version developed by Fraunhofer IGD incorporates the technology presented in the paper and supports RGBA textures that include both color and translucency information, ranging from completely opaque to completely transparent. The driver allows users to print multiple overlapping models, each with one or more RGBA textures. 3D models of this kind can be created with standard 3D modeling tools and stored in standard file formats (such as OBJ or WRL). Translucency is necessary to make skin look real and makes it possible, for example, to print a human figure with opaque clothing and completely transparent glasses in a single printing process. But the technology is also interesting for prototypes in medical education: Parts of the human body can be printed transparently to clearly explain surgical procedures to young physicians.

• Über
  • Unsere Reception
  • Unsere Publikationen
12. - 16.8.2018 (Ganztägig)

Das Fraunhofer IGD lädt zu einem Networking-Event ein, bei dem Gäste mit unseren Experten über die auf der SIGGRAPH vorgestellten Publikationen, seine Technologien und deren Anwendungsmöglichkeiten diskutieren können. Die Reception findet am 15. August 2018 im Steamworks Restaurant unweit des Ausstellungsgeländes in Vancouver statt. Von 19 Uhr bis 23 Uhr bietet sich die Gelegenheit, oben genannte Forscher und ihre Projekte persönlich kennenzulernen.

Das Fraunhofer IGD lädt im Rahmen der SIGGRAPH 2018 zu einer Reception ein. In urigem Ambiente einer Brauerei stellen Max Limper und Philipp Urban ihre von ACM SIGGRAPH ausgezeichneten Papers vor. Für das leibliche Wohl ist gesorgt.

Wann?

Mittwoch, 15. August 2018
19:00 - 23:00 Uhr

Wo?

Steamworks Restaurant
375 Water St.
Vancouver BC
BC V6B 5C6

 

Box Cutter: Atlas Refinement for Efficient Packing via Void Elimination

Paper

Autoren

  • Max Limper, Fraunhofer IGD / TU Darmstadt
  • Nicholas Vining, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Alle Sheffer, University of British Columbia, Canada

Abstract

Frisch promoviert tritt Max Limper nicht seine erste Reise nach Kanada an: In gemeinsamer Arbeit mit den zwei Wissenschaftlern Nicholas Vining und Alla Sheffer von der University of British Columbia UBC präsentiert er das Paper „Box Cutter: Atlas Refinement for Efficient Packing via Void Elimination“. Die 'Box Cutter'-Software nimmt sich der Texturen von 3D-Objekten an, die für gewöhnlich zweidimensional auf einem sogenannten Atlas gespeichert werden und bei der Visualisierung nachträglich auf das 3D-Objekt gelegt werden. Der Algorithmus der Software berechnet die Erstellung der Texturdateien optimaler als zuvor, sodass leere Flecken auf dem Atlas erkannt und entfernt werden. Durch die effizientere Pixelnutzung führt dies zu besserer Qualität bei gleichem Datenvolumen.

3D Printing Spatially Varying Color and Translucency

Paper

Autoren

  • Alan Brunton, Can Ates Arikan, and Tejas Madan Tanksale, Fraunhofer IGD
  • Philipp Urban, Fraunhofer IGD and Norwegian University of Science and Technology NTNU

Abstract

Schon zum zweiten Mal in Folge ist Philipp Urban vor Ort: Das Paper „3D Printing Spatially Varying Color and Translucency“ von Alan Brunton, Can Ates Arikan, Tejas Madan Tanksale und ihm beschreibt die neuesten Möglichkeiten, 3D-Druck noch realistischer durchzuführen. Die neueste vom Fraunhofer IGD entwickelte Cuttlefish-Version beinhaltet die im Paper vorgestellte Technologie und unterstützt RGBA-Texturen, die sowohl Farb- als auch Transluzenzinformationen beinhalten, die von vollkommen opak bis hin zu vollkommen transparent reichen. Der Treiber ermöglicht Nutzern, mehrere sich überlappende Modelle zu drucken, jedes mit einer oder mehreren RGBA-Texturen. Solche 3D Modelle lassen sich mit Standard- 3D-Modellierungstools erzeugen und in Standarddateiformaten (wie OBJ oder WRL) abspeichern. Transluzenz ist notwendig, um Haut echt wirken zu lassen und ermöglicht es, in einem einzigen Druckvorgang beispielsweise eine Menschenfigur mit opaker Kleidung und einer völlig transparenten Brille zu drucken. Aber auch für Prototypen in der medizinischen Ausbildung ist die Technik interessant: Menschliche Körperteile können teils transparent gedruckt werden, um den jungen Medizinern operative Eingriffe anschaulich zu erklären.