• About
  • Talks
  • Exhibits
1. - 05.04.2019 (All day)

Further information:

Visual Assistance Technologies
Joachim-Jungius-Straße 11
18059 Rostock
Phone +49 381 4024-109
  • mario [dot] aehnelt [at] igd-r [dot] fraunhofer [dot] de (send mail)

Plant@Hand3D: 3D visual control station for production

© Fraunhofer IGD

Plant@Hand3D brings all key production information together – all participants can thus obtain an overview at all times. Decision-making is simplified.

The visual control center of Plant@Hand3D integrates various production planning and control information (ERP, MES, BDE, ECMS, etc.) in a 3D model of the real production environment, providing intuitive access to all key production data.

Intuitive multitouch interaction supports the use of these data. A large multitouch table serves as a central planning and control environment. From here, all data can be accessed, orders can be rescheduled, and service missions can be triggered. The connection of external displays (large monitors, tablets, smartphones, and smartwatches) enables a wide range of collaboration possibilities. In this way, Plant@Hand3D offers innovative access to the production data with numerous expansion and deployment options.

RISTRA compresses minutes of simulation time to seconds

© Fraunhofer IGD

A false-color model simulates weakpoints in a design.

Imagine waiting only 45 seconds instead of 60 minutes for your simulation result. We make this possible with our fast GPU structural mechanics solver RISTRA (Rapid Interactive Structural Analysis). Watch live how RISTRA simulates and evaluates the high-dimensional parameter space of a parameterized mechanical part. This will give you an idea of how RISTRA can accelerate your design and engineering process and serve as the basis for component optimization.

Last year, the Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD introduced a preliminary version of its structural mechanics solution RISTRA (Rapid Interactive Structural Analysis), which pushes the processing of the simulation onto the graphics card, thereby significantly compressing simulation time. In its 2019 update, licensed by software developer Meshparts, RISTRA produces results even more quickly. Visitors to the Fraunhofer joint stand at the Hannover Messe trade fair will have the chance to watch how RISTRA explores the high-dimensional parameter space of a configured component, then simulates and evaluates that component in real time. Find out how the software tool accelerates design and engineering processes, and can serve as the basis for component optimization.

In the new 2019 version, developers were able to push all simulation computing onto the GPU. The operations for generating the set of linear equations--several million equations are no exception, depending on the complexity of the design--were specially optimized for computation by the graphics processor. By exploiting the massive parallel computing capabilities of affordable commercial graphics cards, the effects of given loading cases on the component’s structure are visualized in false color in near-real time. In a comparison test, RISTRA computed a model with more than 1.3 million finite elements more than 80 times faster that a commercial simulation software program.

Official press release

• Über
  • Vorträge
  • Exponate
1. - 5.4.2019 (Ganztägig)
Visual Assistance Technologies
Joachim-Jungius-Straße 11
18059 Rostock
Telefonnummer +49 381 4024-109
  • mario [dot] aehnelt [at] igd-r [dot] fraunhofer [dot] de (E-Mail senden)

Plant@Hand3D: 3D Leitstand für die Produktion

© Fraunhofer IGD

Plant@Hand3D führt alle wichtigen Informationen der Produktion zusammen. So behalten alle Beteiligten stets den Überblick – Entscheidungsfindungen werden vereinfacht.

Der visuelle Leitstand von Plant@Hand3D integriert Informationen aus den verschiedenen Systemen zur Produktionsplanung und -steuerung (ERP, MES, BDE, ECMS etc.) in ein 3D-Modell der realen Produktionsumgebung und ermöglicht so den intuitiven Zugang zu allen wichtigen Produktionsdaten.

Intuitive Multitouch-Interaktion unterstützt das Arbeiten mit diesen Daten. Ein großer Multitouch-Tisch fungiert als zentrale Planungs- und Steuerungsumgebung. Von ihm aus, können alle Daten abgerufen werden, Aufträge neu geplant und Service-Einsätze ausgelöst werden. Die Anbindung externer Displays (große Monitore, Tablets, Smartphones und Smartwatches) eröffnet vielfältige Möglichkeiten für Kollaboration. Damit bietet Plant@Hand3D einen neuen Zugang zu den Produktionsdaten mit vielfältigen Erweiterungs- und Einsatzmöglichkeiten.

Fraunhofer-Gemeinschaftsstand „Digital Solutions and New Materials“ in Halle 6, Stand A30

RISTRA komprimiert Minuten von Simulationszeit in Sekunden

© Fraunhofer IGD

Im Falschfarbenmodell zeigt die Simulation Schwachstellen in der Konstruktion.

Stellen Sie sich vor, dass sie anstatt 60 Minuten nur 45 Sekunden auf ihr Simulationsergebnis warten müssen. Dies ermöglichen wir mit unserem schnellen GPU-Strukturmechaniklöser RISTRA (Rapid Interactive Structural Analysis). Beobachten Sie live, wie RISTRA den hochdimensionalen Parameterraum eines parametrisierten Bauteils simuliert und evaluiert. Somit bekommen Sie einen Eindruck, wie RISTRA ihren Design- und Engineering-Prozess beschleunigen und als Basis zur Bauteiloptimierung dienen kann.

Bereits 2018 stellte das Fraunhofer-Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung IGD in einer vorläufigen Version seinen Strukturmechaniklöser RISTRA (Rapid Interactive Structural Analysis) vor, der durch die Verlagerung der Simulationsberechnungen auf die Grafikkarte die Simulationszeit maßgeblich komprimiert. In seinem Update 2019, das vom Softwareanbieter Meshparts lizenziert wird, liefert RISTRA noch schnellere Ergebnisse. Auf der Hannover Messe können Besucher am Fraunhofer-Gemeinschaftstand live beobachten, wie RISTRA den hochdimensionalen Parameterraum eines parametrisierten Bauteils exploriert, das Bauteil in Echtzeit simuliert und evaluiert. Sie erhalten einen Eindruck, wie das Softwaretool Design- und Engineering-Prozesse beschleunigen und als Basis zur Bauteiloptimierung dienen kann.

In der neuen Version 2019 gelang es den Entwicklern, alle Simulationsberechnungen auf die GPU zu verlagern. Die Operationen zur Generierung des linearen Gleichungssystems – etliche Millionen Gleichungen bilden je nach Komplexität der Konstruktion keine Ausnahme – wurden dabei speziell für die Bearbeitung mit dem Grafikprozessor optimiert. Durch das Ausnutzen der massiv-parallelen Berechnungspotenziale handelsüblicher, kostengünstiger Grafikarten werden die Auswirkungen vorgegebener Lastfälle auf die Struktur des Bauteils nahezu in Echtzeit in Falschfarben visualisiert. Im Rahmen eines Vergleichstests konnte RISTRA ein Modell mit mehr als 1,3 Millionen finiten Elementen mehr als 80-mal schneller als eine kommerzielle Simulationssoftware berechnen.

Fraunhofer-Gemeinschaftsstand „Digital Solutions and New Materials“ in Halle 6, Stand A30

Zur HMI-Pressemitteilung des Fraunhofer IGD