M.Sc. Inform. Pedro Santos

Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD

M.Sc. Inform. Pedro Santos
Head of Competence Center Cultural Heritage Digitization
Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD
Fraunhoferstr. 5
64283 Darmstadt
+49 6151 155-472
+49 6151 155-139



Pedro Santos has been Head of the Competence Center for Cultural Heritage Digitization since 2012. Before he was Deputy Head of the Department of Industrial Applications, today Department of Interactive Engineering Technologies.

In the course of various projects in the field of digital preservation of cultural heritage objects and of the increasing demand for mass-scale 3D digitization in this field, his department develops the world's first approach for fast, economic, and automated 3D digitization of cultural heritage with emphasis on capturing optical material properties.

Pedro Santos, who has been researcher at Fraunhofer IGD since 2002, studied computer science at the University of Darmstadt and the Technical University of Lisbon. At present he is also attaining his PhD on the subject of “fast, economic, and automated 3D digitization of cultural heritage” at Technical University Darmstadt.

During his professional career he was involved in the development of the first immersive CAD modeling systems to be used for the early stages of product development as well as in the design of "see-through head-mounted" displays", mobile applications in augmented reality and optical "marker-based" and "markerless" tracking systems.

Pedro Santos is author and co-author of over 50 publications as well as reviewer for the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), die European Association for Computer Graphics (Eurographics), the IEEE Computer Society and other organizations.

M.Sc. Inform. Pedro Santos

Fraunhofer-Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung IGD

 
M.Sc. Inform. Pedro Santos
Abteilungsleiter Digitalisierung von Kulturerbe
Fraunhofer-Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung IGD
 
Fraunhoferstr. 5
64283 Darmstadt
Telefon 
+49 6151 155-472
 
Fax 
+49 6151 155-139
 
 
 

Tabs

Vita

Pedro Santos ist seit 2012 Leiter der Abteilung Digitalisierung von Kulturerbe, nachdem er als stellvertretender Leiter für die Abteilung für Industrielle Anwendungen, heute Interaktive Engineering Technologien, verantwortlich war.

Im Zuge verschiedener Projekte im Bereich der digitalen Erhaltung von Kulturgut und der zunehmenden Nachfrage nach Möglichkeiten zur 3D-Massendigitalisierung in diesem Bereich entwickelt seine Abteilung den weltweit ersten Ansatz zur schnellen, ökonomischen und automatisierten 3D-Digitalisierung von Kulturerbe mit Schwerpunkt auf die Erfassung optischer Materialeigenschaften.

Pedro Santos, der bereits seit 2002 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Fraunhofer IGD beschäftigt ist, studierte Informatik an der Hochschule Darmstadt sowie der Technischen Universität Lissabon und promoviert zurzeit an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt zum Thema „Schnelle, ökonomische und automatisierte 3D-Digitalisierung von Kulturerbe“.

In seiner bisherigen Laufbahn war er an der Entwicklung erster immersiver CAD Modelliersysteme für die frühen Phasen der Produktentwicklung beteiligt, am Entwurf von „see-through Head-Mounted Displays“ und mobiler Anwendungen in erweiterter Realität, sowie an „Marker-basierten“ und „Marker-losen“ Trackingsystemen.

Pedro Santos ist Autor und Co-Autor von über 50 Veröffentlichungen sowie Gutachter für die Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), die European Association for Computer Graphics (Eurographics), der IEEE Computer Society und für weitere Organisationen.